jump to navigation

Concrete Theory Has a Mini Library December 17, 2009

Posted by mgodoublems in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

So I have been looking at expanding my library lately.  I already have quite the excellent selection of books that I would consider ‘permanent library’ material – books that I will utilize for years down the road.  I would call it a library, because I have a large number of friends who borrow my books and take obscene amounts of time returning them.  The book list that I have been adding to to the right is predominantly books I own.  I am also receiving a Kindle over the holidays, I believe, so it will become less of a loaning library for some books.  I do intend to continue purchasing paper books – perhaps not the first time I read them – for the majority of the books of this style, but my lighter reading will likely become entirely electronic.  It would be nice if Amazon included the Kindle book with each physical book purchase for free.  I think that’d be a great way to boost physical book sales, and Kindle sales.  Here’s a list of a few of the books that I own off the top of my head that fit into the ‘permanent library’ category.

Key: Electronic Books in Green, On Loan in Red

  • The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman
  • Hot, Flat, and Crowded by Thomas Friedman
  • Freakonomics by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner
  • The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell
  • The Back of the Napkin by Dan Roam
  • Shaping Things by Bruce Sterling

I will be adding another tab to the top of the page, titled My Library, since the sidebar book list may get a bit long.  I’ll keep the sidebar book list pared down to the last few, or the most influential.  I may re-title it ‘The Essentials’ or something.

I feel like using ‘Concrete Theory’ as a title for the book-related and non-book related thought posts works quite well – thoughts on paper are concrete theory – and just dividing them between ‘book analysis’ and whatever else seems to be working well enough for me.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

